My Google Page Rank

Celso readies position in Bicam for BBL


Congressman Celso Lobregat revealed that he is watching closely the development in the conduct of Bicameral Conference Committee which would be his “last hurrah” in protecting the best interest of Zamboanga City on the proposed Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL).

Lobregat said that anytime within this week or maybe next week the Bicam, which is composed of (18) House Panel members and (10) senators, will already meet and to reconcile the final BBL version. Lobregat believes that he has still the chance to debate until the very end to fight for the best interest of the city.

In an interview with local media, Congressman Lobregat said that the Bicam will be his only remaining hope and last venue to make sure that the provisions he has manifested, will be protected and in included in the said law.

The solon said that since there is an amendment by substitution on the proposed Bangsamoro law, meaning the entire original BBL Law (House Bill 6475) was changed into a substitute bill with amendments, wherein all of the issues and concerns he raised to protect Zamboanga City were addressed.

“As what I have said, I will be there until the very end, fighting for Zamboanga City’s interest, standing firm for what is best for Mindanao, upholding the constitution, and protecting the republic. Siguro aura el publico ta entende ya si cosa el demiyo desisyon para buen estar y proteje con el interest del ciudad,” Lobregat added.

The members of the Bicameral Conference Committee include the biggest supporters and critics of the proposed BBL measure. They will be tasked to finalize the proposed BBL law which aimed to implement a peace agreement with the Moro Islamic Liberation Front here in Mindanao.

The members of the Bicameral Conference Committee are; Senators - Aquilino Pimentel III, Sherwin Gatchalian, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Joel Villanueva, Francis Escudero, Franklin Drilon, Risa Hontiveros, Loren Legarda, Francis Pangilinan.

In the House of Representatives, the members of the Bicam are; Rodolfo Fariñas,  Pedro Acharon Jr (South Cotabato), Mauyag Papandayan (Lanao del Sur), Ruby Sahali (Tawi-Tawi), Celso Lobregat (Zamboanga City), Abdullah Dimaporo (Lanao del Norte), Bai Sandra Sema (Maguindanao), Juan Pablo Bondoc (Pampanga), Arthur Defensor Jr (Iloilo), Johnny Ty Pimentel (Surigao del Sur), Eugene Michael de Vera (ABS Party List), Rodolfo Albano III (Isabela), Amihilda Sangcopan (AMIN Party List), Wilter Palma (Zamboanga Sibugay), Mohamad Khalid Dimaporo (Lanao del Norte) Romeo Acop (Antipolo City)Seth Frederick Jaloslos (Zamboanga del Norte) and Shernee Abubakar Tan (Kusug Tausug Party List).

Congressman Lobregat also revealed that the leadership of the House has also called a small group consensus who discussed about the pending consolidation of the two BBL version in the two houses, no less than President Rodrigo Duterte also manifested his concern on the said law, which he wanted to be passed as an urgent bill under his present administration as a key to peace and reconciliation here in Mindanao region. – Dexter Yap

Related news items:
Newer news items:
Older news items:

Add comment

Security code